Uninstalling and Re-installing the Livedrive software

NB: The sort of reasons that might cause you have to do this include backing up program files rather than data files. The symptoms of this are your computer runing slowly, programs that you use regularly not working properly until you turn Livedrive off, and consistently having hundreds or thousands of files that are permanently queueing and re-queueing to back up.


In the unlikely event of you having to uninstall and re-install Livedrive, please follow the steps below to get Livedrive working on your machine.

Uninstall the software through the normal Add/Remove Programs control panel, ensuring you say yes to the removal of all settings.

1) Open the "Folder Options" Control Panel, which may be found within "Appearance and Themes". On the "View" tab, under "Hidden files and folders", click "Show hidden files and folders". Clear the "Hide protected operating system files (Recommended)" check box. Clear the "Hide file extensions for known file types" check box (useful).

You will now be able to see the local cache folder, which will be a folder called ~LD on the root of the cache drive. It is likely to be on the root of your C: drive.

This folder will need to be removed or renamed to completely clear the local cache. To avoid any data loss (e.g. files stored in the Briefcase that never completed their upload to our servers) we would recommend renaming this folder, e.g. to "OLD ~LD" (without the quotes).

2) Reinstall the latest version of the client, which you can do by downloading and running the installer from the web portal. After re- configuration and pre-sync this should now work. Please also ensure that any anti-virus you may have is not modifying files in the cache folder.

Due to our file de-duplication technology files you have already uploaded will not need to be re-transmitted, but will appear in the transfer queue and then appear to upload almost instantly.

Once the software is working correctly you can check the 'OLD ~LD' folder for any complete data files you may need, and copy them back to your L: drive. Ensure you do not copy any 0KB files or files that are type 'LDMETA File'. You may then delete 'OLD ~LD', however if you are unsure that you have copied all your data please keep this folder on your computer.

Please contact us if you need further assistance.

Was this answer helpful?

Also Read

What is the Desktop Software?

The Livedrive Desktop Software makes using Livedrive easy! If you are Livedrive Backup customer...